A Must Read!!!!!!!

Kevin

Guys, I have a carpet and upholstery cleaning service that Ive been doing part time for a couple of years. Well in August I applied for an SBA loan to buy equipment to start full time ( since then Ive added power washing). I went through the company that supplies my carpet cleaning equipment to advertise in the Yellow Pages. They have been using this particular Yellow Pages company for many years so I trusted them. I basically explained where I lived and asked the lady from the Yellow Page ad company what I needed and she talked me into a quarter page add which has produced only 3 calls since November of 99. This advertising has crippled my business, BAD. I'm writing to let you guys know that big ads mean NOTHING! I was duped by a good saleswoman. Please take my advice before placing a large ad. If I can recover the losses (IF) I'll be thankful.

L

LightningClean

Kevin,
Let me explain my ideas on yellow page ads. Are they necessary? YES Should you run a quarter page ad? NO! Why? Just a waste of money. Most ads in the yellow pages as just a waste, so run small ads. Why are they good? Because people that get a flyer or meet you going door to door or even see your ad in a newpaper do one thing. They counter referance you with eveything, yellow pages, BBB and the Chamber of Commerce just to name a few. Advertising in any amount should be done small! Meet and Greet/Word of mouth are the best. That yellow page ad aids you when you meet someone and they think to themselves I wonder how long he has been around and they go and referance the yellow pages. Yellow pages are a waste unless they are small.
Another reason small ads in the yellow pages, alot of your customers in this biz are older. Why? Because they cant do this hard of work anymore, so if they go to the yellow pages and see a BIG ad they think this guy must charge a TON to run that ad.