Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Windows NT

• Linux

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

Aplus

I use Win98 for my desktop, 2000 professional for my notebook, and 2000 server for my server. I'm a system admin during the day, so I guess I got it in my blood. It really doesn't matter what OS you use, as long as you can run the applications you need. For stability, I prefer Win 2000. I do not intend to upgrade to XP because I just don't like the interference that Microsquash is going to inflict. Yeah right, I'm going to call them every time I tweak my system and have a need to reload. I hope the Justice department busts their a**es but good!

Beth

Hi Tony,
I was thinking about moving from 98 to NT, but have not done so yet. Am using NT at work...(my other work) and 98 for our home office.

What are your thoughts on NT vs. 2000?

Beth

Aplus

Beth,

I would generally recommend that people move towards the 2000 environment. For one thing, it adds plug-and-play features, which are not present with NT. It is a slightly bigger resource hog, however, and requires more robust hardware. The learning curve going from NT is not that bad either, which is a concern for some.

Cases can be made to go either NT or 2000, so I guess every situation needs to be evaluated.

Not knowing specifically what your usage requirements are, I cannot make a broad statement to go either way. For example, certain games, and older software may not work on either NT or 2000.

I would truly recommend making an "image" of your hard drive first, using either Ghost, or Drive Image, in case your migration to a new OS does not work out as you anticipated. Then, you can always restore back to the way it was before.

I for one, have learned the hard way in the past, and won't make the same mistakes again.

Beth

Exactly. Have thought about adding a hard drive, then keeping it as 98, and making the new one NT or 2000.