Upstreaming Soap

chirobob

Larry, Dan S
I've been dabbling in the two step for a few months and I am now trying to get it to my liking. Originally, I used my 4GPM machine with a hot box to do the trick . I applied the HF @ 3% with a shurflo the downstreamed the soap at a reasonable pressure. The results were pretty good.
Since then I have hooked up my 8 GPM unit to hot water and I am currently trying this out downstreaming HF and soap with a rollover nozzle application only leaving out the Shurflo. The problem I have is, to downstream the HF I have to use the largest GPM nozzle possible to eliminate the overspray, but this nozzle is gives to lower pressure for applying the soap which gives a pretty average result.
What I would like to do is apply the HF downstream with a dual lance and upstream the soap hot.

Is there any modification that I need to do for my pump other than making it an open gun? In saying this Dan S with your new venture you may be able to help- How do the self serve car washes upstream the soap with out having an open gun or does it simply bypass in a closed circuit without going back into a feeder tank and causing excess foam?

With regard to the upstream, from the photo you posted of your soap manifold Larry, I thought I would simply add a 1/2 " valve to the supply line, add a tube to a 5 Gall tank and adjust the valve open to suit % soap required. I think I am along the right track here - do you guys have any thing to add?

Also what % on 'average' would you use as an upstream soap 0.5, 1.... 2 % ?

Any help would be great?

Larry L.

PWN TEAM - Moderator Emeritus
I would not add the soap line to the supply line,it will take longer for the soap to clear out of the lines before rinsing,Add it to the pumps intake.

"but this nozzle is gives to lower pressure for applying the soap which gives a pretty average result."==Are you saying its to slow or not appling the soap strong enough?