tractor(not trailer) fleet work pricing ideas??

jay k.

I'm trying to price 20 truck tractors to be cleaned weekly. The tractors are day trucks and do not have sleepers. They are used to haul livestock, so I would need to clean them after hours or on weekends. They are fairly dirty, but when I saw them they had not been cleaned for a while. I have never done fleet stuff before so I'm just looking for some basic pricing thoughts.

Larry B

I would aim for the $15.00 range, you could be a little less but not lower than $13.00. I won't do one for less than $15 but I have been lowballed before and prefer to be at around $17.50
Some of the variables would be whether or not you have to move them, do they have polished aluminum and if they have to be brushed. These kinds of accounts can be good ones to have. No sleepers and all lined up you should be able to do 6-8 per hour depending on your setup and equipment.

Larry L.

PWN TEAM - Moderator Emeritus
Good job Larry

Even tho they have 20 trucks doesn't mean you'll get to wash all 20 each week,fleetwashing is like that.They may own 100's of trucks for you to bid on for each truck but in most cases look for half or less.I would think long and hard before I bid 15 and wouldn't be happy with the 17.50.I like 20 each b/c I know not to count on the 20 trucks each week,Like I said fleetwashing is like that.

Larry B

I am not happy with $15 either, your area will determine the market. In over 8 years of truck washing I have only found one person to accept a bid over $20 for just a truck, and there are several guys out here who use cheap labor (illegals) and subcontract the work out and charge as little as $12 per truck. I think $15 for trucks with no sleepers on a weekly basis can be decent money, they shouldn't be very dirty in just a weeks time. Larry is right be sure you have an understanding with them on how many trucks will be available each week, with no sleepers there is a good chance they will be there each weekend.