Vent Hood Cleaning Help

SunriseMobile

I am new to vent hood cleaning, but ive been doing fleet washing for awhile now. Ive heard that i had to get some fire safety prevention permit before i can start vent hood cleaning. Do anyone know if that is true and where i can get this permit if i have too.

Flue Steam

Check with your local AHJ they will tell you what certification and training is required. Have you got a copy of NFPA 96?

SunriseMobile

thanks alot

well ill have to check what certification and training i need.. plus i need a copy of the NFPA 96. Can u tell me where i can get it.. thanks

johnny

Cleaning kitchen vent systems is pretty straight forward. No need for certification, use common sense, anywhere the smoke from the kitchen goes up- clean - the canopy over the cooking line remove the filters and clean them, see all the way up the chimney-clean and remove the black stuff from the walls of the duct from the canopy to the fan on the roof. Go to the roof tip the fan so you can clean the fan blades and the fan in general. When it's all nice and shiny go back downstairs and polish the hood canopy after you dry the waterspots inside the canopy. Replace the now like new cleaned filters, clean up your mess and place a sticker near the switches. Clean everything that looks dirty. You might have to scrape the duct to clean the grease before you wash it. Use a hot water machine as hot as you can get, plenty of sodium hydroxide sprayed on the black stuff(grease), wear protective clothing, face shields and gloves. That's pretty much all there is to it.